ADVERTISEMENT

Football Clay Helton discusses staff changes

Ryan Young

Jun 27, 2018
While speaking on the Pac-12 coaches teleconference Tuesday morning, Clay Helton discussed at length the staff changes he announced Monday, to relieve offensive line coach Neil Callaway of his duties and for Helton to take over play-calling responsibilities from offensive coordinator Tee Martin.

Here's the full transcript of what he said Tuesday about those move:

On the timing of the moves a day after he said he'd wait until after the season to evaluate any potential changes ...
"I just thought it was the appropriate time. I had an itch to get back more integrated with the offense. Being in year three of being a head coach, I just feel so much more comfortable in the role and the job of being the head coach and the duties that come with it that I know the lay of the land now. I really wanted to get more involved and help the offense continue to grow and perform and felt like it was the right time. I wanted to be able to make sure I was making the right decision for our team because obviously there's some really good men in Neil Callaway, that I love as a family member, and at this point in time I just felt that it was the right time for our team to make that change."

On whether he met with AD Lynn Swann on Monday and what influence that had on the timing of the moves ...