ADVERTISEMENT

To hell with it. An attempt at a positive post.

USCBalto

Alumni
Feb 6, 2013
Okay, so Clay is inexplicably here to stay another year. Fine. Well not fine but fine.

Here’s the way things can go right. The kind of right we all wish for, i.e. a shot at the playoffs and a chance to beat the big boys? No. But a chance to reclaim the mantle as top dog of this conference. And that’s fine. Well not fine but fine.

Okay, so let’s start.

Offense:

Well, we are finally changing. I’ve been begging for us to go to a Baylor type air raid for 7-8 years. We finally went out and got the best coach available for that offense. That’s huge. My enthusiasm is tempered because...well you know why...but just moving this offense out of the Stone Age and into the modern offense discussion is huge. I think based on comments from recruits and others, Kliff sees we have some big powerful backs and wants to modify the offense of his a little to make it more like Oklahoma’s. He saw that offense for several years. I think with Stepp-Carr-MalaPAINai we will run some power RPO from the spread.

I’m excited to see this offense. Is it a finesse offense? Yeah sure. A little. But when Baylor was bludgeoning teams putting up 60-70 points a game and winning by 35, the pain was real for those opponents. We need to put some quicks into the offense and I would love if we had depth at DB and could move one of the quick kids there like Johnson or ITS but they are needed elsewhere. It’s also a shame Dom Davis is gone because he would have gone off in King’s offense. Velus will have his chances. But I’m just not sold on him. He’s just too linear in his running.